Burnley FC Main Club Sponsor
  • Club History
  • Offers
Club History
Burnley FC History

One of the founders of the Football League in 1888, Burnley Football Club is a professional association football club based in Burnley, Lancashire.

Nicknamed The Clarets, they actually started as a rugby club before becoming Burnley Football Club in 1882.

The club colours of claret and blue were adopted in 1910 as a tribute to the dominant club of English football at the time – Aston Villa. The colours before claret and blue were yellow and black.

Burnley’s motto, "Hold to the Truth" (Tenez Le Vraye), is represented by a hand between two bees found in their badge, described as one of the most fascinating in the league.

Their home ground since 1883 has been Turf Moor, the longest continuously professional used football ground in the world with a natural turf, before originally playing at Calder Vale.

Burnley were Football League champions in 1920-21 and 1959-60 seasons. They won the FA Cup in 1914, and claimed the Community Shield twice, in 1960 and 1973.

The Clarets also made it to the 1961 quarter-finals of the European Cup. They are one of only three teams to have won all top four professional divisions of English football, along with Wolverhampton Wanderers and Preston North End.

Nearly all members of the 1959-60 Division I winning team had played in the Burnley youth team. The Clarets' were also the first to let a manager decide about the transfer policy for which some of the most prestigious clubs around the world emulated them. In the aforementioned period, Burnley won the English title on the last day, beating Manchester City 2-1 at Maine Road.

Between 2000 and 2009, they played in the second-tier of English football, until they gained promotion to the Premier for the first time in 33 years after winning the 2009 Championship playoff final. However, they were relegated after a single season.

The Clarets returned to the Premier League again in 2014–15 after being promoted from the Football League Championship at the end of the 2013–14 season as runners-up to Leicester City. On 9 May 2015, Burnley were relegated back to the Championship despite a 1–0 win against relegation rivals Hull City.

On May 2, 2016, Burnley were promoted back to the Premier League with a 1–0 win over Queens Park Rangers, and on May 7, 2016,  they were confirmed as champions of the Football League following a 3-0 win against Charlton Athletic.

Some of the notable players who donned the Burnley colours were Tommy Boyle, Glen Little, John Francis and Chris Pearce, among others.

Andy Payton holds the record of most goals scored in a  season (27) during the 1999-2000 season.

The club’s mascot is Bertie Bee, who wears the 1882 shirt. He became famous for rugby- tackling a naked football fan on the pitch in 2002. He appeared on the BBC Television sporting panel show "They Thinks It’s All Over" after the event. In the 2006–07 season, he was also joined by Holland’s Pies Stan the Pie Man, because of a sponsorship agreement.

The Clarets will play in the 2018-19 UEFA Europa League after finishing seventh in the 2017-18 Premier League. They will be one of the teams to watch out for in both competitions.

The Clarets' manager is Sean Dyche who has been in charge since 2012.

PREMIER LEAGUE/DIVISION ONE (Football League Division 1 Winners (2): 1920-21 and 1959-60. Football League Division 1 Runners-Up (2): 1919-20 and 1961-62. Football League Division 1 Third (5): 1898-89, 1921-22. 1947-88, 1962-63, and 1965-66. Championship/Division Two Football League Division 2 Winners (3): 1897-98, 1972-73 and 2015-16. Football League Division 2 Runners-Up (3): 1912-13, 1946-47 and 2013-14. Football League Championship Playoff winners (Promoted) (1): 2008-09)
FA CUP (Winners (1): 1914 Runners-up (2): 1947 and 1962)
LEAGUE CUP (Semi-finalists (4): 1960-61, 1968-69, 1982-83 and 2008-09.)
FA COMMUNITY SHIELD (Winners (1): 1973 Shared (1): 1960 Runners-up (1): 1921 Never played (1): 1914)
EUROPEAN CUP (Quarterfinals (1): 1960-61)
Join Now